Uncategorized

First week back

This week has been my first week back to work and so far it’s been an interesting one. I knew it wasn’t going to be easy for either of my children or myself, but I was hoping for a smoother transition. Between my toddler throwing a fit because he doesn’t want me to leave, and my 1 month old crying because her brother is whining, I don’t know which is worse. It’s heart warming to know that he doesn’t want me to go anywhere, but it’s also frustrating. I tried my best to keep a level head, said my goodbyes (with an extra long hug to my toddler) and went on my way with my fingers crossed that everything was going to be fine.

Sunday was not only my first day at work, but also my husbands first day at watching our kids without me for longer than thirty minutes. I was glad that I didn’t have to take them to a babysitters, but at the same time, I was concerned that he couldn’t handle it on his own. So by the request of both o us, my friend and her younger sister came to spend the day with them. I felt much better, especially for my first day back. I wanted it to go as smooth as possible for all of us. I checked in once and everything was fine, my husband even did some chores around the house without me having to say anything. Overall, it was a good day.

My second day, Monday, was a little more rough. My toddler woke up when I did. He was tired and clingy and was smart enough to know that me getting dressed and ready that early in the morning was a sign that I was leaving. He’s wasn’t having it. Thank goodness my babysitter lives a few houses down (also the friend that helped Sunday) and she came to me. After I gave him some breakfast and he was settled with his Octonauts, I headed out. He did fine once I left and in felt confident that the worst was over.

This morning, he’s sleeping in, my 1 month old is sleeping and now I’m just waiting for my babysitter to come by. Overall, the transitioning hasn’t been as bad as I thought it would be, thank god!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

